Gullah Geechee Cultural Heritage Corridor Commission

ggc tree


According to the designating law, there are two types of Commissioners: (1) those nominated by the State Historic Preservation Officer (SHPO) of North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia and Florida, and (2) specialists who can nominate themselves or be nominated by others to the NPS.​

For consideration as a SHPO nominee please contact the SHPO in your state:

South Carolina:

Dr. W. Eric Emerson
8301 Parklane Road
Columbia, SC 29223
Tel: 803-896-6185


Dr. Timothy Parsons
RA Gray Building
500 S. Bronough St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250
Tel: 850-245-6300

​North Carolina

Dr. Kevin Cherry
4610 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4610
Tel: 919-807-7279


Dr. David Crass
DNR Historic Preservation Division
Jewett Center for Historic Preservation
2610 GA Hwy 155 SW
Stockbridge, GA 30281
Tel: 770-389-784

To be considered as a specialist, contact:

Chris Abbett
Associate Regional Director for Partnerships
Interpretation and Education
National Park Service
1924 Building
100 Alabama Street SW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Tel: 404-507-5685

​Questions about the NPS National Heritage Area program should be directed to:

​National Heritage Area Program Region Manager
Southeast Region
National Park Service, Southern Regional Office
1924 Building,
100 Alabama Street SW
Atlanta, GA 30303.
Tel: 404-407-5821